Stories From The Road

Technos International Week – Day 14

Saturday June 19, 2010

NARITA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, Ueno, Japan – I guess it’s true what they say about life. Life really is made up for beginnings and ends. So ends this. I could write about our last morning and the emotions everyone was feeling. I could write about how we woke up for our last morning in Japan, ate breakfast, packed our belongings and left for the airport to eventually board our airplanes destined for separate destinations. Yet all of that information is relatively unimportant in the larger scheme of things. What is important is the beginning and the journey to this end. We arrived here as complete strangers in a land that was a complete mystery to us. A few people spoke some part of the language, but no one was completely fluent. We were strangers in a strange land, lost in a new culture, yet eager to learn as much as we possibly could. The two weeks that I spent in Japan flew by faster than I could have imagined, yet it also felt like a lifetime and I enjoyed every minute of it. Our Technos hosts were unbelievable and went out of their way to show us a great time. Then there was the tearful goodbye, but I didn’t look at it that way. While I was saying goodbye to this trip, I knew I would be starting another one soon. Although I am finished with this trip to Japan, I know that one day I will return. Will it be the same? Probably not, but I have a feeling that no matter how long it takes for me to return to Japan, when I do I will have a great time. As for this trip I met some new people, and some great friends from several different countries, friends that I hope will last a lifetime. I will take my time in Japan and all the memories associated with it and store them away and occasionally look back on them and smile or laugh, but all that will come in time….

So ends this…

Group Picture

Leave a Reply

